Canton Underage DUI Attorney Benjamin Reed
Prosecutors and courts are always eager to convict and penalize someone who is accused of driving under the influence (DUI). The tenacity they show only increases when dealing with an underage DUI case. Perhaps they believe that if they can harshly penalize a young driver, they will help prevent DUIs in the future.
Whatever misguided reason they might use for being overzealous in underage DUI cases, you need to counter their efforts with just as much determination of your own. You can come to the Law Offices of Benjamin Bradley Reed, P.C. in Canton to retain the services of Attorney Reed. With his law firm on your side, you will stand a real chance at countering the prosecution’s efforts, protecting your freedom and reputation, and keeping your driver’s license.
Call (678) 647-1191 without delay to connect with his firm.
Georgia’s Underage DUI Rules
It is illegal for anyone under the age of 21 to drive with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) level of 0.02 or greater. This is actually somewhat lenient compared to many other states, which use a zero-tolerance policy for underage drivers.
You can also be charged for an underage DUI in Georgia if you are under the age of 21, get pulled over on suspicion for DUI, and refuse to take any chemical testing. In such a situation, the state could file DUI-less-safe charges against you.
What Happens When Convicted of an Underage DUI?
The penalties you face if convicted of an underage DUI in Georgia will vary depending on your driving record and the details of your arrest. The more marks you have on your driving or criminal records, the steeper your penalties will be as the charge itself escalates.
For a first-time arrest and conviction, the penalties can include:
- $300 fine minimum, up to $1,000
- 24-hour jail time minimum, up to 12 months
- 20 hours of community service minimum
- Driver’s license suspension, minimum 12 months
It is also worth nothing that you may be required to complete all hours of community service within two months after you are convicted and sentenced. This requirement can put a serious burden on your schedules and availability, interfering with your work or education.
Trusted Defense for Underage Drivers & Juveniles in Canton
Attorney Benjamin Reed is highly experienced with juvenile crimes defense cases, which are reflected in many underage DUI cases. To tap into his experience and insight, call (678) 647-1191 and connect with his Canton underage DUI defense law firm today. You have a chance to preserve your driving privilege. Do not let it go to waste by not acting!
You can schedule a no-cost case evaluation with Attorney Reed’s firm to begin your case.
Learn More About Our FirmWatch Our Video
Attorney Reed is an accomplished, successful, widely recognized defense attorney who genuinely cares about each of his clients. Watch our video to hear more about what makes him different.