How long will a DUI/DWI stay on my record?

Driving with a blood alcohol content of 0.08% will get you arrested for DUI if you are stopped by police officers. Your first DUI is a misdemeanor, barring any aggravating factors, and you will spend between 24 hours and 1 year in jail, pay up to $1,000 in fines, and possibly endure a yearlong license suspension.

Punishments for DUI convictions can increase to the point where your fourth DUI conviction will be considered a felony, which carries up to five years of jail time, up to $5,000 in fines and an indefinite suspension of your driver's license. Other factors such as excessive speeding, excessively high blood alcohol content, causing an accident, etc. can enhance your punishments as well.

DUIs & the "Look Back" Period

The question you need answered, especially if you already have a DUI conviction on your record, is "How long does each DUI conviction stay on your record?"

This is often referred to as the "look back period" and in Georgia, the term is 10 years, meaning any prior DUI convictions can be counted against you when you are being sentenced for another DUI offense.

If you prior DUI convictions are within the last 10 years, you need to ensure that you have a quality attorney behind you so you aren't subjected to the increased penalties. Attorney Reed has an Excellent rating from Avvo for his success in the courtroom and status among his peers in the legal community. He is also a member of the Georgia Association of Criminal Defense Lawyers, National Association of Criminal Defense Lawyers, and the Georgia Bar Association.

Call Benjamin Bradley Reed, PC today to learn about fighting your DUI charge!